Uncategorized

My Top Five “Go To” GFDF Meals

Woo! This is officially my FIRST post on Simply GFDF.   I hope that this blog fulfills the creative void I’ve been feeling over the past few months, and that you just happen to LOVETHEHECKOUTOFIT, too.  I’m starting off with a few of my favorite, or “go to” recipes/cooking methods.

I love food blogs, but find myself wishing that the authors would post some real daily life meals and strategies along with their recipes.  The recipes are always fab, but honestly – who has time to gather all those ingredients and cook like that every day o’ the week? Not many of us. So, here are a few of my not-so-glamorous staples for easy and quick meals. I honestly use at least one of these per week as a staple.

  1. Diane SanFilippo’s Pumpkin Pancakes from her book “Practical Paleo”. Recipe HERE. These pancakes ARE SO GOOOOOOOOOOOOD. So good. I can’t even. One batch creates about 8 or 9 palm-sized pancakes, and when you eat half of the batch you’re getting roughly 20g of protein, healthy fats and carbs all in one meal.  I measure out a tablespoon of maple syrup (the real VT stuff guys, not that nasty syrupy nonsense) on top.  After a breakfast like this, my day can only go downhill from here. So good.  I tend to make a few batches at once on a Sunday and heat them up during the week for quick breakfasts or snacks on the go!
  2. Sear-Roasting Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts.  Ok, I know – BORINGGGGG.  Because chicken breasts are mostly to be dreaded.  As a woman who lifts weights and watches her protein count semi-carefully, I have had my fair share. So trust me when I say this recipe is worth a try.  Instead of eating dry, chewy, overcooked breasts, this recipe ALWAYS gives me moist and – dare I say it – delish chicken breasts.
    • Basically, I preheat my oven to 450 degrees, heat up my cast iron pan with a few dabs of coconut oil (if you don’t have one, buy one now. Worth EVERY penny. Link to mine HERE). Once hot, I throw a few salt and peppered chix breasts in that puppy for about 6 minutes, flip ’em and then put my cast iron skillet in the oven for 10-15 minutes, depending on the size of the chicken breasts.  You want a meat thermometer to read 165 degrees. Don’t have one of those? Get one, you will not regret it. And they’re like $5, so…just do it.  Let those babies rest for about 5 minutes – don’t skip this step either! The juices really do redistribute.  Then boom, done, moist chicken breasts for any day O’ the week.
  3. Oven Baked Turkey Burgers. 
    • Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
    • Mishmash 1lb organic ground turkey, 1 egg, 3/4 cup gluten free breadcrumbs, some chopped onions and mushrooms in a bowl.
    • Form into about 5 patties, place on pan, bake for 30 minutes (turning once halfway).
    • You should double this recipe.  You’ll be annoyed you didn’t. Trust me.
  4. Basic Breakfast Smoothie.  It’s simple, and for 323ish cals, gets you 26g of protein, 36g of carbs, only 14 of sugars and 9g of healthy fats! Boom.
    • 1/2 banana
    • 1/2 cup frozen organic berries
    • 1 tbsp chia seeds
    • 12 tbsp liquid egg whites – I use the “All Whites” brand.  It’s not organic, but whatevs. Good protein.
    • 1 tbsp of your fave peanut butter.  I’m in love with Peanut Butter & Co’s Bees Knees and their Dark Chocolate Dreams versions.
    • 1 cup of So Delicious’ Unsweetened Organic Coconut Milk
    • 1 large handful of organic baby spinach
    • Cram it all in there, blend it up and conquer your day 🙂
  5. Spaghetti Squash.  Honestly, this took a few attempts before I decided to like the stuff, but now I eat it at least twice a month!
    • 1-1/2lbs organic ground beef. I use the organic Costco brand, easy peasy.
    • 1 can of your favorite marinara – ideally, with as few ingredients as possible.  There are plenty of great organic brands out there!
    • 1 spaghetti squash.
      • Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Cut the spag squash in half, scoop out the seeds, lay the halves face up in a pan and drizzle with olive oil.  Bake for 35-40 mins, depending on size of squash.  It’ll be done when you can stick a fork in there easily.
      • Combine with cooked ground beef, your fave spices, marinara. Eat.  This usually makes about 4 servings, so double as needed!

Anndddddd, that’s it for now! Cook ’em all up, throw in lots of veggie sides and you have yourselves a whole week’s worth of meals!  Don’t worry, I’ll be back with more soon.

xo,
Jenna

 

Leave a Reply

